India vs South Africa: KL Rahul to lead India; Umran, Arshdeep get maiden call-ups | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Young pace sensations Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh have been rewarded for their outstanding IPL performances as they were selected for the upcoming five-match T20I home series against South Africa.
As expected, the all-format players including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah were given a much-needed rest after two-month long IPL. KL Rahul will wear the captain’s hat in absence of regular skipper Rohit.
Dinesh Karthik, who made a strong case for the finisher’s role with his exploits for RCB, also made the cut in the Indian team.
The selection committee also named India’s 17-member Test squad for the fifth rescheduled Test against England to be played at Edgbaston, Birmingham from July 1-5. India currently lead the Test series 2-1.
India’s T20I squad: KL Rahul (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (vice-captain)(wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik
India’s Test squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain) Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Source link