Top five: Most runs in an IPL season | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Over the past 12 editions, the Indian Premier League has been a complete entertainment package for the fans. Though bowlers have played a very big role in the tournament, power-hitters are the ones who have captured the imagination of the fans. Not surprisingly, many of the batsmen who have consistently fired over the course of a full season are traditional, classic batsmen and not pinch hitters.
From modern-day greats like Virat Kohli, David Warner and Chris Gayle to a veteran like Michael Hussey, classy batsmen have ruled the roost. here takes a look at the top five batsmen who have been the highest run-getters in a single edition of the IPL:
Virat Kohli (2016) – 973 runs

A consistent performer and a run machine across formats, Virat Kohli has been equally devastating when it comes to the IPL. Although the Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper is yet to lay his hands on the IPL silverware, his individual performances for his franchise (RCB) have been a class apart over the past 12 editions. And it was in 2016, when Kohli lit up franchise cricket‘s biggest extravaganza with a barrage of thunderous batting performances. With a total of 973 runs in 16 matches, Kohli in that edition went on to become the top run-getter. It’s a record he still holds firmly. With as many as four centuries (the highest for a batsmen in one edition) and 7 fifties, Kohli, in that edition, was unstoppable. He hit the ball at a strike rate of over 152, at an average of over 81, which also included a total of 38 sixes and 83 fours, Kohli took every opposition apart, toying with their bowlers. Riding on Kohli’s stupendous run, RCB in that edition, went on to reach the finals but lost eventually to Sunrisers Hyderabad to settle for second place. With a highest score of 113 and four unbeaten knocks, Kohli was the big individual hero of that season.

David Warner (2016) – 848 runs

Although Virat Kohli was in the spotlight through the 2016 IPL, but Sunrisers Hyderabad’s David Warner gave a run for his money with the bat. The Aussie is in second place on the all time list of highest run-getters in a single edition of the IPL. With 848 runs in 17 games, Warner had a stupendous 2016 edition. Warner’s performance in the tournament helped SRH enter the final and win their maiden title. With an average of over 60, Warner had a phenomenal run in 2016, where he hit 9 crucial fifties — giving his side a jump-start at the top on most occasions. The runs for Warner in that edition came at a strike rate of over 151, where he also managed a personal highest score of 93*. An integral part of the SRH setup, Warner has been as reliant as ever with his exceptional consistency setting him apart from the rest in the tournament
Kane Williamson (2018) – 735 runs

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has been known for his classy, subtle and well-crafted batting style, but he is also rated highly amongst the best power hitters in the world. He doesn’t need to bludgeon the ball, but can clear the fence almost at will when he wants to switch gears. Williamson in 2018 filled the void created by David Warner’s absence, Williamson, with additional responsibilities of being the skipper made the 2018 edition his own, showing his phenomenal skills as a leader and a batsman. With a total of 735 runs in 17 matches, Williamson was not only the highest run-getter in the tournament, but also took SRH to the finals of the competition. Scoring at an average of 52.50, Williamson, in that edition struck 8 fifties, providing much-needed strength to SRH at the top of the order. And the runs he scored at a strike rate of over 142 also played a huge role in Hyderabad’s dominance through the tournament. Although they lost to Chennai Super Kings in the final, Williamson was the standout performer with the bat in the 2018 edition.
Chris Gayle (2012) and Michael Hussey (2013) – 733 runs

Chris Gayle and Michael Hussey are the perfect examples of how two completely opposite batting styles can gel perfectly in a tournament like the IPL. While everyone is very well aware of what Gayle has brought to the T20 format, Hussey, with his elegance and class coupled with a ruthless attitude in taking apart bowling attacks proved that simple things such as timing the ball well can be equally fruitful in the format. Both Gayle and Hussey scored 733 runs in a single edition of the IPL (separate editions) and are joint fourth on the all-time leading run-scorers list in a season. While Gayle achieved the feat in the 2012 edition, playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, Hussey replicated the same in the 2013 edition for Chennai Super Kings. For Gayle, his runs in 2012 came at the strike rate of 160, Hussey on the other hand, played in his natural style, although a bit aggressively — scoring at a strike rate of just over 129 — but always being the much needed anchor for the team. With a highest score of 128* and 95 respectively, both Gayle and Hussey emerged as the stars for their respective franchises in these two editions.
Chris Gayle (2013) – 708 runs

Jamaican power-hitter Chris Gayle might now be in the twilight of his cricketing career, but what he did for T20 cricket will be remembered for generations to come. And his heroics with the bat were highlighted and enjoyed in the IPL as well. From the highest ever score in the competition (175*), to having one of the highest strike-rates, Gayle has been one of the stand out performers in the tournament over the years. It’s no surprise then that he features again on this list. And it was during the 2013 edition that he showed signs of his consistent power-hitting, accumulating 708 runs for Royal Challengers Bangalore. After being the highest scorer in the previous edition (2012), Gayle continued his masterclass, the following season, emerging the second best behind Hussey in 2013. The 708 bruns he scored in 2013 puts him in fifth place on the list of highest run-scorers in the season. In 2013, Gayle played a total of 16 matches, where he scored his runs at a strike rate of over 156, which also included a ton and four fifties. It was in this season that Gayle scored his 175 not out — the highest individual T20 score by a batsman. With 51 sixes and 57 fours Gayle batted in his usual dominant style in that season, once again showcasing his batting prowess to the world.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *